Wednesday, December 31, 2014

Amazing 2014

Wow! I can't believe that this is the last day of 2014. 

2014 was such an amazing year for me! In January I started this blog and we had a ton of snow days over the winter! I got to know some amazing authors and discovered some awesome new books,

Then the most amazing experience started when I heard that my Church was going on a mission trip to Romania! I'll never forget the joy I felt when I found out that I was going to be able to go, or the truly life changing and amazing experience I had there! My relationship with God grew so much this year and my dream to go on mission trips took off! I'll never forget the joy on those smiling childrens faces, the friends I made there, or the all encompassing peace and God's love that surrounded me every moment I was there. They taught me so much, and they changed me for the better. I loved every minute of it. It was so amazing and I hope that, someday, I'll get to go back!

Then, I started my senior year!

I've spent some great time with my family!

I went to Tennessee, Florida and of course across the nation to Romania!

I hope 2015 will be awesome too, but that will be tomorrows post!

Waiting on Wednesday: From the Start

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine, where we share a book that we are waiting for.

From the Start (Walker Family, #1)From the Start by Melissa Tagg
Publication Date: April 7, 2015

Goodreads Summary
Kate Walker used to believe in true love and happily-ever-after before a short-lived engagement left her brokenhearted. At least her disillusionment with romance hasn't kept her from churning out made-for-TV screenplays and fluffy novels. That is, until a major career slump sends her running home to her father and the town of Maple Valley. Her plan to help her dad write his memoir while she figures out where to go next takes a surprising turn when she finds new inspiration in the most unexpected person.

After an injury permanently sidelines NFL player Colton Greene, he is temporarily hiding out in a friend's small town to avoid the media and reminders of the betrayal that led to his career's end. Maple Valley is conveniently also the perfect place to prove to his former girlfriend that he's ready to settle down and lead a normal life. The only trouble is that he's never really done normal before and has no idea where to start.

Fast friends, Kate and Colton both get what it's like to need new direction in life. But while Kate plays things safe, Colton is all about big risks and grand gestures. Neither of them has any intention of giving up on their goals...unless being forced to start over could be their chance at a life--and love--that tops all of their dreams.

Why I'm Waiting
This sounds very interesting, and Here To Stay was fantastic!

What are you waiting on?

Tuesday, December 30, 2014

My True Love Gave To Me (Anthology)

My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories

I love Christmas, and I actually also love Christmas anthologies! I really didn't know how they were going to be able to fit 12 stories into such a small amount of pages. This was a mix of sparkling gems, indifferent metals, and ones that I wouldn't have minded skipping that I rushed through. So, I'm going to do my review a little different - giving stars to each story, some books I'll talk about more than others because they are the ones I really liked.

Here are the authors I had read before and looked forward to reading
Ally Carter
Stephanie Perkins
Gayle Forman
Rainbow Rowell

Midnights by Rainbow Rowell
3/5 Stars
I read and enjoyed Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell and hers was one of the stories I had looked forward to reading. Midnights was a sweet read. I really liked how it went through a series of New Years and I laughed a little, yet this book didn't strike me in a way that lit a spark.

The Lady and the Fox by Kelly Link
2.5/5 Stars
I've never read anything by Kelly Link so I didn't really have any expectations on this one (other than the usual "I hope it's good"). I didn't know what to expect, but it managed to be very different in a indifferent way. I liked parts of it - it was sweet at times, but other parts I didn't enjoy as much and got bored, again it didn't hit a spark.

Angels In The Snow by Matt De La Pena
3/5 Stars
I'd never read anything by this author either, but I actually kind of enjoyed parts of this story. Once you get past some of the language and get into it, it's kind of interesting. The premise was interesting and I enjoyed the banter and the time they spent learning about each other. What I didn't like was that this one wasn't as clean as I'd like.

Polaris Is Where You'll Find Me by Jenny Han
I've never read anything by Jenny Han, but I really enjoyed her writing style in this story. I loved the unique setting and the characters, yet it ended kind of mysteriously.

It's A Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown by Stephanie Perkins
I like Stephanie Perkins books, and this one was no exception! This was one of my favorites in this collection. I loved all of the witty banter, the writing style was fantastic, the setting and actions interesting. I loved every minute of it! North was totally swoon worthy, and his name was pretty awesome as well. While it was short and spanned a very short amount of time, it covered a lot and it definitely hit that special mark! 

Your Temporary Santa by David Levithan
Did not finish.

Krampuslauf by Holly Black
I mainly skimmed and rushed through this story. There were parts that were okay, sentimentalities that I liked, but this wasn't exactly a writing style or story that I was drawn to.

What The Hell Have You Done, Sophie Roth by Gayle Forman
I've read some Gayle Forman before, and this story exceeded my expectations because it didn't make me cry! I laughed and really enjoyed the banter and "adventure." Two big city outsiders might not be such outsiders after all!

Beer Buckets and Baby Jesus
5/5 Stars
I've never read anything by Myra Mcentire before but I might look into her books now. This was actually one of my favorites despite any misgivings that the first word in the title gave me (trust me it doesn't have anything to do with drinking). In fact this was probably the most Christmassy of the twelve stories. The true meaning of Christmas - baby Jesus - and faith were present in this one and I loved the themes of forgiveness that were present. This story was interesting and sweet with history and banter that made me laugh!

Welcome to Christmas, CA by Kiersten White
I've never read anything by this author either, but I can honestly say that I liked this story. The town of Christmas and Christmas had lost their sparkle for the main character, yet when the new chef (a handsome young man) with a magic touch came to town, things just might start to brighten up a little. I liked the journey of discovery that the main character went on, along with the moments of playful banter in the restaurant, and hidden nice side.

Star of Bethlehem by Ally Carter
I am a huge fan of Ally Carter - who could manage not to be? - so I had very high expectations for this story. And they were all met and exceeded! I loved the idea of switching places with a total stranger (especially one from another country)at the airport and coming to fall in love with the boy that likes the other person! This story was very interesting and in true Ally Carter fashion Lidy had a secret and a life she was hiding from. I enjoyed the small amount of mystery, the depth, and sweet story of love and family!

The Girl That Woke The Dreamer by Laini Taylor
4/5 Stars
This story pleasantly surprised me. I enjoyed the writing style, and it had a very interesting setting, history, and premise. It was magical and unique. While not a favorite, it was interesting.

Overall 3.7 Stars (yes I did the math and divided by 11 since I didn't finish 1)

Have you read this one yet? Which stories did and didn't you like?

Top Ten Goals/Resolutions For 2015

Top Ten Tuesday is a fun meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, where we pick the top ten things that we choose for the topic of the week.
Topic: Top Ten  Goals/Resolutions For 2015 (bookish/blogging or otherwise)

Bookish Wise
~ Read more TBR pile books
~ Have a better balance between TBR books to review books
~ Don't let review books dictate reading
~ Keep not buying as many books - Netgalley, sales, Library, review copies

Blogging Wise
~ More interviews, guests posts
~ More followers (not sure I can do much about that one)!
~ More discussion posts
~ Do better with challenges
~ Comment more
~ Make a blogging friend
~ Host my own giveaway

~ Meet an author or get a signed book
~Continue participating in blog tours

What are your 2015 Goals/Resolutions?

Monday, December 29, 2014

2015 Contemporary YA Challenge

While I tend to read a lot of Historical fiction and Christian technically adult fiction, I do like a good YA contemporary sometimes! So I'm entering this challenge hosted by The Book Belles, in hopes that I'll have fun reading and keeping track of the YA contemporary books I read this year!

I'm going to start out with the Peony level 11-15 books, but maybe I'll move up! There's lots of fun stuff to go with this challenge including an awesome scavenger hunt and monthly prize packs! 

Here's some books I hope to read for this challenge (subject to change)
~ First World Problems by LeighAnne Kopans
~ Right Where I Belong by Krista McGee
~ There You'll Find Me by Jennie B. Jones
~ Katie Parker Production Series by Jennie B. Jones
~ All Fall  Down by Ally Carter
~ The Distance Between Us by Kasie West (and other books by Kasie West)
~ Not In The Script by Amy Finnegan
~ The Avery Shaw Experience by Kelly Oram
~ The Romeo Club by Rebekah L. Purdy
~ books by Shannon Crane Camp
~ Golden by Jessi Kirby
~ The Grass is Always Greener by Jen Calonita
~Fool Me Twice by Mandy Hubbard
~ The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall
~ Sealed With A Lie by Kat Carlton
~ Solving For Ex by LeighAnn Kopans
~ Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins
~ Isla and the Happily Ever After by Stephanie Perkins
~ Going Rogue by Robin Benway
~ Let It Snow Christmas Collection

I'll keep track of my progress on my challenges page!

Sunday, December 28, 2014

A Timeless Romance Anthology: Silver Bells Collection

My rating: 5 of 5 stars
Goodreads Summary
Six Award-Winning Authors have contributed new stories to A Timeless Romance Anthology: Silver Bells. Readers will love this collection of six historical novellas, all centered around the Christmas season with one thing in common: Romance.

In NY Times & USA Today’s bestselling author Lucinda Brant’s delightful novella, FAIRY CHRISTMAS, Kitty Aldershot is orphaned and forced to live on others’ charity. Offered a home under the generous roof of her relatives, the Earl of Salt Hendon and his countess, Kitty wants for nothing, not even the affections of Mr. Tom Allenby. But when Kitty stumbles across a letter written by Lady Caroline that reveals how Mr. Allenby would be ruined should he marry the likes of Kitty, she realizes she has been fooling herself all along. Kitty’s world crumbles around her as she recognizes she will forever be alone with no prospects at all.

Sarah M. Eden’s charming romance novella A CHRISTMAS PROMISE, Sean Kirkpatrick is trying to get to his new place of employment, Kilkenny Castle, in order to start as the new stablehand. His only requirement is to drive a team of high-spirited nags from Dublin to Kilkenny in a certain amount of time. Unfortunately he winds up in a muddy field, stuck, lost, and running out of time. He’s about to lose the job before he can prove himself capable of finishing his first assignment. When Maeve Butler arrives on the scene, Sean isn’t sure if she’s intent on rescuing him or bent on torturing him with her fiery wit and lovely dark eyes.

In Heather B. Moore’s enchanting novella, TWELVE MONTHS, Lucien Baxter’s best and most incorrigible friend, Will, dies unexpectedly, leaving behind his new bride and unborn child the week before Christmas. Will’s last request is that Lucien watches over Cora, not just as a benefactor, but as a husband. When Lucien does his duty and proposes to Cora, he’s turned down flat. But over the course of the next few days, Lucien discovers that marrying Cora wouldn’t be any sort of duty after all, but a matter of following his heart.

In Lu Ann Staheli’s sweet romance novella, A FEZZIWIG CHRISTMAS, Dick Wilkins and his best friend Ebenezer Scrooge have been looking forward to the annual Fezziwig Christmas dance for weeks. Ebenezer is practically engaged to Annabelle Fezziwig, and Dick hopes to start courting her younger sister, Pricilla. Once the dance starts, and Pricilla arrives, as pretty and charming as ever, Dick discovers that he’s not the only man vying for her attention. His best friend advises Dick that he has to win Pricilla’s heart, as well as her mother’s favor. Losing his heart has suddenly become very complicated.

A TASTE OF HOME, a captivating romance by Annette Lyon, we meet Claire Jennings, who’s on her way to spend Christmas with her family. As she rides the train with William Rhodes, who grew up across the street, memories of Christmases past flood her mind. He may be twenty-one now, but she can’t forget his torturous teasing from their school years. At the rail station, Claire discovers that her home is under quarantine because her little brother has measles. She's stuck in town, away from her family, on her favorite holiday. William stays behind with her, and as Christmas Day approaches and her homesickness deepens, she discovers that perhaps he has changed in more ways than one.

Becca Wilhite’s entrancing novella, MY MODERN GIRL, follows Margie, who lands her dream job as a clerk at Macy’s department store in New York City. Margie might be new in town, but she’s determined to succeed and prove to Henry that moving to the city was the right decision. As the Christmas season approaches, Margie realizes that being a “modern girl” might not be all she had dreamed of and Henry might have more to offer than she ever imagined.

My Review
I loved every story in this Christmas collection! They were all delightful and worth 5 Stars! Each one is different, they aren't connected in any way so if you wanted to you could read them out of order. Each one took place in a different location or taught me about a Christmas tradition or time in history. Though these stories were shorter, they all had relateable characters and just enough happened to make it all flow and wrap up beautifully in the end!
(Each picture has a significance to the story)

Fairy Chirstmas by Lucinda Brant

Kitty was so kind and exactly how I would imagine a Christmas fairy in love would be! She loved Christmas so much, though she barely had family left she was determined to make the best of things and her Christmas spirit would be catchy to even a present day Scrooge - bah humbug! Her kindness shown, even in the midst of her confusion and the hurt brought on by a big misunderstanding. I did see through it, and I was surprised that Kitty didn't pick up on it sooner because it was right in front of her, but she was in love and that always seems to complicate matters! The other characters were very interesting as well, and I loved hearing about all of their conversations and secrets! Plus I finally learned what a Yule Log is!

A Christmas Promise by Sarah M. Eden

Some of Sarah M. Eden's books have been on my wish list for a while now, and I was excited to read a story written by her! I was not disappointed! This story was so full of wit and humor, love, and hard work, Ireland, history, and beautiful page gluing writing! If you don't smile and laugh a little while reading the fiery banter between Sean and Maeve, then there is something seriously wrong with your sense of humor!

Twelve Months by Heather B. Moore

This story was beautiful. Parts of it were heart-wrenching - her husbands actions, Cora having given up on falling in love before she married. I wasn't sure if I was going to enjoy this story as much as the others at first, but I fell in love with Lucien and Cora! Through their process of getting to know each other, their playful banter, music, and Lucien's sweetness, I fully enjoyed every minute of this book. It was so sweet and beautifully written!

A Fezziwig Christmas by Lu Anne Staheli 

This was a sweet story full of dancing, London society, two friends finding their true loves, and refusing to give up in the midst of trying circumstances and trusting in love! I enjoyed the different perspectives throughout the story and thought everything tied together nicely. The theme of family and acceptance was very prevalent throughout the story.

A Taste of Home by Annette Lyon

I loved this story! Claire loves Christmas - spending it with her family and the little traditions that combine to make Christmas the perfect time of the year. When she gets stranded in the city with Will her childhood tormentor, she is devastated. Over the next few days, as Will tries to make Claire forget about what she's missing and enjoy Christmas anyway, she realizes that maybe Will has changed and is more than he seems. But can she truly forgive him for the past? I loved their sharing of memories and verbal sparring, their real talk, and his sweet actions and plans for adventures around the city for helping her have a true Christmas regardless of where she was. He was so sweet!

My Modern Girl by Becca Wilhite

One of Becca Wilhite's books has been on my TBR wishlist for a while, and now my wish to read it is renewed! My Modern Girl does a fantastic job of making the early 1900's come alive, where girls are beginning to make a way for themselves. Margie is convinced that her dream of being a modern girl is just what she needs, so she sets off to work at Macy's. But after a while the bright gleam of being modern, and working for herself, starts to fade, and she starts to miss home, and Henry, wondering if she made a huge mistake. This is a story of spreading your wings and learning to fly, but never forget where home is, never giving away your true dreams. Henry was so sweet and faithful, but he also had a secret that I eventually uncovered, but it was so perfect!

Read these stories, trust me you won't regret it!

Have you read this book already? What story/stories did you love the most?

Week of Wonder

Week of Wonder is what I call my Weekly Wrap-up. I will link up everything that I did on my blog this week - books I read, books I reviewed, what challenges I've added to, what I'm currently reading, all my other posts, etc. I will also let you know about any upcoming events that are coming up on my blog.

I hope everyone had a very, very merry Christmas! I know I truly enjoyed spending time with my family and celebrating the birth of our Savior Jesus Christ!

Blue Christmas by Lucy McConnell

Other Posts
Tis The Season of Giving to Bookish Buddies
Top Ten Books I Wouldn't Mind Santa Bringing Me
Christmas Traditions
Waiting on Wednesday: A Love Like Ours
Twas The Night Before Christmas
Merry Christmas
Blog Plans
2014 End of Year Books Survey
Stacking the Shelves + special edition of Under the Christmas Tree
entry posts to 6 2015 Reading Challenges!

What was your Christmas week like?

Saturday, December 27, 2014

2015 TBR Pile Challenge

Oh my goodness! You can not imagine my relief that this challenge is going to be repeated in 2015 - thank you Bookish (Go on over to Bookish and check out the rules and enter)! I have so many books in my TBR pile and I  failed miserably last year. So here I am to try it again!

I am going with First Kiss 21-30 books from my TBR pile, but it would be great if I could get more read!

Here are some of the books I hope to read
Books 2 & 3 of the Anomaly series
The Ryn by Serena Chase
Cindy Roland Anderson books
2 of Jen Turano's Books (the 2 I haven't read)
Kasie West books
Circle of Spies by Roseanna M. White
Tamera Alexander books
Janice Thomas books
Any books I have but haven't read yet and the ones on my Library list and TBR Pile on Goodreads that I've been meaning to read for a while but haven't (it would take forever to put all those on here)!

Who else has a crazy TBR pile? Come on, I don't want to be alone with this problem!

2015 Reading Road Trip Challenge

Reading Road Trip Challenge 2015- Hosted by She's Got Books on Her Mind
I think it's so fun to keep track of the places I've visited through the books I've read, so I'm going to use my Google map from the Around The World Challenge and keep up with my U.S. traveling too -thanks to She's Got Books On Her Mind!

I'm going to start out with Hitchhiker 10-20 states, but maybe, just maybe I'll move up!

2015 Around The World Challenge

Around the World 2015 Reading Challenge by All About Books
I love traveling the world through books, and I thought that this Around The World Challenge by It's All About Books would be a perfect way to keep track of the places I travel to through books this year. I created a map (can be found towards the bottom of my side bar on the left) on Google Maps where I'll put dots at each destination. 

 I love how this challenge is just for fun and has so many fun mini challenges!
Here is a link to the map! (I'll also use this map for the road trip challenge)

2015 Debut Author Challenge


In 2014 I read so many wonderful debuts from amazing authors, and I hope that by doing That Artsy Reader Girls 2015 Debut Author Challenge I can do that again!

The challenge is to read at least 12 debut books from authors.

Here are some that I plan to read, but it's subject to change
1. The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall
2. A Wicked Thing by Rhiannon Thomas
3. The Story Spinner by Becky Wallace
4. The Second Self by Claire Lovell
5. Keeping Kate by Lauren Winder Farnsworth

I'll keep track of my progress on my Challenges page throughout the year!

2015 Prequel and Sequel Challenge


This challenge hosted by Novel Heartbeat (go there for details and sign ups) and Writer Grrl Reads sounds really fun, and I really like the points system! I really need to work on all the sequels I have to read!
Points System
1 point for each prequel or sequel novella read and reviewed
2 points for each full length sequel read and reviewed
10 points for completing and reviewing a full series (doesn't require novellas)

I'm going for the Amateur 25-50 points
I might make a list of some of the books I hope to read for this (so many options), but for now this is it!

2015 Fairytale Challenge

The Daily Prophecy
You all know how I love fairytales and I'm always on the lookout for a good fairytale retelling, so I was ecstatic to see that there was a challenge hosted by The Daily Prophecy for fariytale retellings! It's a pretty awesome challenge too, and the reader gets to decide what qualifies! 

Since I didn't do so great with challenges last year, and I want to enter others as well, I'm going with Magic Mirror 5-9 books, but I hope I get to read more!

Here are some of the books I hope I get to read for this challenge
1. Winter by Marissa Meyer
2. Heartless by Marissa Meyer
3. The Huntress of Thornbeck Forest by Melanie Dickerson
4. Stitching Snow by R.C. Lewis
5. A Wicked Thing by Rhiannon Thomas
6. What Is Hidden by Lauren Skidmore
7. Hero by Alethea Kontis
8. Dearest by Alethea Kontis
9. The Ryn by Serena Chase

I'll keep track of this challenge on my challenges page!

2014 End of Year book Survey

2014 End Of Year Book Survey
I guess its that time of year. The time to reflect on my 2014 reading. This was my first year blogging, and what an experience it has been so far! It's opened up a whole new part of reading! So thanks to the Perpetual Page Turners 2014 End of Year Book Survey for helping me (and a bunch of other readers) out in this reflection!

Book Rating Stats
5 Stars - 60
4 Stars - 26
3 Stars - 7

Did not finishes - At least 3, I didn't really keep track though.

Pages - 25,079

Number of Rereads?
???. This was my first year blogging, so I got just a little caught up in all of the review books.

Genre you read the most from?
That would definitely be a toss up between Christian fiction and YA.

Honestly, I started doing this one, but it was just to hard and I was just like no way. I loved so many books this year. One of the reasons for that is that I am extremely picky about the books I read, so I normally don't read a book unless I think I'm going to like it (at least 3 stars), and I'm also a mood reader.

There were at least 8 extremely exceptional books that I read this year!

So, I guess I fail at this survey. I feel so accomplished (not). I'll try again on the next parts though!

1. New Favorite book blog you discovered?
I've discovered so many wonderful blogs this year and two of them are Books For Christian Girls and The Book Belles

2. Favorite review you wrote in 2014?
This was my first year blogging, and I had so much fun writing many of the reviews I wrote this year! Some are more polished, some have gifs, some are longer, some are shorter, some 5 stars, some 3 stars. I tried to do them justice, but couldn't. Here are two of my favorites! (I chose from the reviews from the last half of the year because I felt like they were written after I got a better hang of things).
Star of Deliverance by Mandy Madson Voisin
Historical Christian Fiction
The Bound Heart by Dawn Crandall

3. Best discussion/nonreview post you had on your blog?
Best Christmas Post - Wonderland Weekend: Believe
Best bookish post - Wonderland Weekend: Books Take Us To Another World
I also loved all of the interviews and guest posts that were on Wonderous Reviews this year - those authors are all so amazing!

4. Best event that you participated in?
World wide - Armchair BEA got a lot of views and comments. It was also so much fun!
I also really enjoyed all of the blog tours I got to be a part of!

5. Best moment of bookish/blogging life in 2014?
I loved the moments of interaction with authors and readers. Whether it was interviewing an author or seeing a comment on my blog, it made my day brighter!

7. Most popular post this year on your blog (comments or views)?

8. Post you wish got a little more love?
Wonderland Weekend Posts

9. Best bookish discovery?
Cedar Fort and blog tours

10. Did you complete any reading challenges or goals you had set for yourself at the beginning of this year?
I met and exceeded my goal of reading at least 100 books this year! The other challenges I participated in, I didn't do so great on:( This was my first year blogging and I got caught up in all of the review books. Hopefully I'll do better next year!

1. One book you didn't get to in 2014 but will be your #1 priority in 2015?
Finishing the Anomaly trilogy by Krista McGee

2. Book you are most anticipating in 2015 (non-debut)?
The Shifters Heart by Desiree Williams
Season of Fire by Lisa T. Bergren
Ally Carter's new series

3. 2015 Debut you are most anticipating?
The Conspiracy of Us by Maggie Hall

4. Series ending/a sequel you are most anticipating in 2015?
Winter by Marissa Meyer

5. One thing you hope to accomplish or do in your reading/blogging life in 2015?
Have a better balance between TBR pile books and review books.
More discussion posts and interviews

You're turn now!

What about you? Are you good at picking favorites or do you have as much trouble as I do?

Stacking the Shelves

Stacking the shelves is a weekly meme hosted by  Tynga's Reviews. It's great for showing off the fantastic reads we added to our shelves in the last week!

I got an extra surprise for Christmas when I won two awesome books on Thursday! Thanks Serena Chase from Edgy Inspirational Romance
A Sugar Creek Christmas (A Sugar Creek Novel) The Ryn (Eyes of E'veria, #1)
A Sugar Creek Christmas by Jenny B. Jones
The Ryn by Serena Chase

Bought/Part of a Christmas Gift Card
Discovering Sophie Under a Georgia Moon
Discovering Sophie by Cindy Roland Anderson
Under A Georgia Moon by Cindy Roland Anderson

Now for a special edition - Under the Christmas Tree

While Christmas isn't about presents here's what I got under my Christmas tree

~ While it couldn't exactly fit under the Christmas tree - I got an awesome 2015 Dodge Dart about 3 weeks ago as an early Christmas present! I was so excited and extremely surprised!

~ 6 new shirts, a sweater, a coat, a pair of boots, purse, a little jewelry

~ Gift card totals of $55 for JCPenny's, $30 for Kohl s,and a $50 Vanilla Visa that I will probably mostly spend on books

~ A Royal Tailor cd and headphones


What books were under your Christmas tree?

Friday, December 26, 2014

Blog Plans

You guys now know how much I truly love Christmas now! My pleasant, joyful, Christmas Spirit is contagious! Right? And now we have to start our Christmas countdowns all over again at 365 :(

Christmas break lasts until January 4th this year, and I need to get at least a little ahead in blogging if I can. Here's some of what I hope to get accomplished.
~A little reading and book buying.
~ Update about me page
~ Clean up blog layout
~ Schedule memes and maybe some other posts
~ Do 2014 wrap-up reading posts
~ Figure out which challenges I want to try out in 2015 (I didn't do very good on them this year, but it was my first year blogging so hopefully I'll be more realistic).
~ Come up with ideas for discussion posts and Wonderland Weekend posts
~ Etc.

But we'll see how much of this I actually get accomplished. This is Christmas break after all!

Do you have any current blogging plans?

Thursday, December 25, 2014

Merry Christmas

Merry Christmas, and a happy Birthday to our Savior, Jesus Christ!

Happy Birthday to you,
Happy Birthday to you,
Happy Birthday dear Jesus,
Happy Birthday to you!

May we never forget the true meaning of Christmas, and the true reason for the season. 

"For God so loved the world that he sent his only begotten son, that whoever believes in him shall never perish but have eternal life." John 3:16

Don't forget God's love this Christmas day, for it is the whole meaning of Christmas. Take some time to think about the Lord and grow your relationship with him this Christmas.

Wednesday, December 24, 2014

Twas the Night Before Christmas

Twas the night before Christmas 
And all through my mind
Visions of Jesus Christ born in a manger, dance in my head.

The angels warned Mary and Joseph
They would have God's child.

Mary and Joseph traveled to Bethlehem,
And knocked on inn doors,
At the thrice they were told they could stay in the stable. 

Baby Jesus was born among the donkeys, sheep, and cows
Placed in a manger to appear to the world.
The angels appeared to the shepherds,
and they were sent on their way.

They, along with the wisemen bearing selfless gifts,
 followed the star God placed to show them the way.

For God sent baby Jesus to earth to show us his love,
and the Heavenly host of angels sang songs from above.

Now we all share the good news,
spreading love and great joy.
For our Savior was born that night,
and it is a celebration not meant to be out of sight.

Merry Christmas to all,
and to all a good night.

(P.S. The wisemen didn't show up until about two years later).

Waiting on Wednesday: A Love Like Ours

Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine, where we share a book that we are waiting for.

A Love Like Ours
Publication Date: May 5, 2015

Goodreads Summary
Scarred from his military days, cowboy Jake Porter is content being alone...until his old friend Lyndie starts tearing down the walls he's built.

Why I'm Waiting
I was so excited to see that Jake's story is coming out soon! I've read the other two books, and the third Porter brother deserves a chance at love too!

What are you waiting on?

Tuesday, December 23, 2014

Christmas Traditions

I always love hearing about Christmas traditions. Whether unique, way out there, or kinda normal - I am fascinated with them all. So, even though my families traditions are pretty normal on the grand scale of traditions, I thought I'd clue you in anyway just because I love this time of year so much.
christmas charlie brown - Google Search
I start listening to my 28 Pandora Christmas radio stations the Monday before Thanksgiving, and I don't stop until after Jan. 6! I also begin watching Christmas movies and reading Christmas books.
Little Girl decorates the tree gifs gif little girl tree decorations holidays christmas gifs decor ideas holiday spirits
Normally we joyfully put our tree and my grandparents trees up the weekend after Thanksgiving.

I bake a ton of cookies and candies for the whole family.

I wrap Christmas presents (not living ones though).

My family and I go to a Christmas Eve service at 3:00 in the afternoon, complete with a live band, glowsticks, and most important of all, celebration of the birth of Jesus Christ.

My whole mothers side of the family gathers at my Grandma and Grandad's house on Christmas Eve for a feast and presents. We do presents at our house Christmas morning, then go to my Dad's parents for Christmas afternoon feast and more gifts.

Most of all, we spend time as a family to celebrate the coming of our Savior Jesus Christ! Feeling the love, joy, hope, and peace - the whole spirit of Christmas - that is so abundant at this time of year!

What are your Christmas traditions?