Sunday, August 31, 2014

Week of Wonder

Week of Wonder is what I call my Weekly Wrap-up. I will link up everything that I did on my blog this week - books I read, books I reviewed, what challenges I've added to, what I'm currently reading, all my other posts, etc. I will also let you know about any upcoming events that are coming up on my blog.

This week has been kind of busy. My Grandad is in the hospital from a stroke, it was the first full week of school, and I had to make a nice powerpoint of my trip to Romania to use to present to my grandparents Church today. I didn't get all my posts written and on the blog, but I did get some reading done - that aid class, where pretty much all I do is read for 55 minutes, is really helping! 

Reviews
The One by Kiera Cass

Other Posts
Book Blitz: Rival Love by Natalie Decker
WoW - Atlania by Allie Condie

Coming Up
A Most Peculiar Circumstance by Jen Turano
Grace Unplugged by Melody Carlson
Revelation by Jennifer Hartz
Here to stay by Melissa Tagg

What has your week been like?

Wednesday, August 27, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday - Atlantia by Ally Condie

AtlantiaAtlantia by Ally Condie
Publication Date: Oct. 28, 2014

For as long as she can remember, Rio has dreamt of the sand and sky Above—of life beyond her underwater city of Atlantia. But in a single moment, all her plans for the future are thwarted when her twin sister, Bay, makes an unexpected decision, stranding Rio Below. Alone, ripped away from the last person who knew Rio’s true self—and the powerful siren voice she has long hidden—she has nothing left to lose.

Guided by a dangerous and unlikely mentor, Rio formulates a plan that leads to increasingly treacherous questions about her mother’s death, her own destiny, and the complex system constructed to govern the divide between land and sea. Her life and her city depend on Rio to listen to the voices of the past and to speak long-hidden truths.

Why I'm Waiting
Underwater Atlantia, mystery, intrigue, complex governmental system to divide the land and the sea! What more could we ask for in order to become intrigued?


View all my reviews

Tuesday, August 26, 2014

Book Blitz: Rival Love by Natalie Decker



















Rival Love




Release Date: 08/26/14



Swoon Romance








Summary from Goodreads:

Skylar Fletcher is a proud Harris Academy Bulldog! She has everything she’s ever wanted: a perfect boyfriend, great friends, and her dream college waiting for her in the fall. But nothing lasts forever. Skylar's world shatters when her mom decides it is time to move and drags Skylar, kicking and screaming, into Bobcat territory.


At Delmont High School, home of the Bobcats, Skylar has no friends and is often bullied. To make matters worse, her home life sucks thanks to all-star quarterback Caleb Morgan, nephew of her mom's live-in boyfriend.


At first Skylar and Caleb want nothing to do with one another. But they soon discover they're not that different after all--and each is harboring a secret attraction to the other. But can a Bulldog and a Bobcat ever really be more than friends? And are Skylar and Caleb willing to risk everything to find out? Rival Love is a debut young adult contemporary romance from Natalie Decker.




Available from:



Excerpt




















About the Author
Natalie Decker is the Author of Rival Love. She loves oceans, sunsets, sand between her toes, and carefree days. Her imagination is always going, which some find odd. But she believes in seeing the world in a different light at all times. Her first passion for writing started at age twelve when she had to write a poem for English class. However, seventh grade wasn’t her favorite time and books were her source of comfort. She took all college prep classes in High school, and attended the University of Akron. Although she studied Mathematics she never lost her passion for writing or her comfort in books. She’s a mean cook in the kitchen, loves her family and friends and her awesome dog infinity times infinity. If she’s not writing, reading, traveling, hanging out with her family and friends, then she’s off having an adventure. Because Natalie believes in a saying: Your life is your own journey, so make it amazing!





Author Links:




 photo iconwebsite-32x32_zps1f477f69.png  photo icongoodreads32_zps60f83491.png  photo icontwitter-32x32_zpsae13e2b2.png  photo iconfacebook-32x32_zps64a79d4a.png



GIVEAWAY:

$10 Amazon gift
card + ebook of Rival Love (INT)


Book Blitz Organized by:

Monday, August 25, 2014

The One (The Selection, #3)

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Goodreads Summary
The Selection changed America Singer's life in ways she never could have imagined. Since she entered the competition to become the next princess of IllĂ©a, America has struggled with her feelings for her first love, Aspen—and her growing attraction to Prince Maxon. Now she's made her choice . . . and she's prepared to fight for the future she wants.

Find out who America will choose in The One, the enchanting, beautifully romantic third book in the Selection series!

My Review
While this series and this book drove me crazy at times because of their lack of decision and other things, I had to find out how it ended! But I'm going to try to keep this short and not give away anything!

I will say that I loved how so many discoveries were made. From the Norther and Southern rebels to the girls remaining in the Selection, to Prince Maxon. 

The girls relationships took some twists and turns for the better, and I really enjoyed finally seeing them grow closer. Some things took me by surprise which, just made the book more enjoyable. America finally made her choice. One that made me (and her and her choice) very happy! I was really relieved that it ended with the choice that I wanted her to make, because now I don't have to complain and regret reading the series. But anyway, this series does have a way with playing the readers emotions, and I was a little sad to say goodbye to all of the characters. I was proud of some of America's actions and decisions, she proved herself a great princess (no matter the outcome). I hope they live happily ever after and make a true difference!

Like I said, this series played with my emotions!
                  and 

I would like to thank my local Library for allowing me to borrow and read this book.


Sunday, August 24, 2014

Week of Wonder

Week of Wonder is what I call my Weekly Wrap-up. I will link up everything that I did on my blog this week - books I read, books I reviewed, what challenges I've added to, what I'm currently reading, all my other posts, etc. I will also let you know about any upcoming events that are coming up on my blog.

Unfortunately, school started this week:( It is my senior year, but that does't make me want to go.

Blog Tours
Sense and Sensibility by Rebecca H. Jamison

Reviews
A Match of Wits by Jen Turano

Others
Top Ten Books People Have Been Telling You That You Must Read
Waiting on Wednesday - The Zodiac Collector
In Summer
Wonderland Weekend
Stacking the Shelves

What was your week like?

Saturday, August 23, 2014

Stacking the Shelves

Stacking the shelves is a weekly meme hosted by  Tynga's Reviews, where you show what books you got during the week.

Received
Sophia Holly Hearts Hollywood The Guardian Duke (Forgotten Castles #1)
Sophia by Paula Kremser
Holly Hearts Hollywood by Kenley Conrad
The Gaurdian Duke by Jamie Carie

Borrowed
A Most Peculiar Circumstanc...
A Most Peculiar Circumstance by Jen Turano

What did you add to your shelves this week?

Blog Tour: Sense and Sensibility by Rebecca H. Jamison

Sense and Sensibility blog tour

My rating: 5 of 5 stars
Description
Which is the key to love—passion or sensibility? Sensible Elly and romantic Maren are sisters trying to hold their family together in the wake of their father’s bankruptcy and death. As each unexpectedly encounters the madness and misadventures of love, will they ever find the true happiness they dream of? This modern reimagination of the Jane Austen favorite will capture your heart all over again.

Rebecca H. JamisonAbout Rebecca H. Jamison
Rebecca H. Jamison has lived on a live volcano, excavated the bones of a prehistoric mammal, and won first prize at a rigged chili cook-off. She wrote novels just for fun until she made a New Year’s resolution in 2011 to submit a manuscript to publishers. Her first two published works are Persuasion: A Latter-day Tale and Emma: A Latter-day Tale. Rebecca grew up in Virginia. She attended Brigham Young University, where she earned a BA and MA in English. In between college and graduate school, she served a mission to Portugal and the Cape Verde islands. Her job titles have included special education teacher’s aide, technical writer, English teacher, and stay-at-home mom. Rebecca enjoys running, dancing, reading, and watching detective shows. She lives with her husband and children in Utah. You can learn more about her at www.rebeccahjamison.com


My Review
I have been wanting to read Rebecca H. Jamisons first two books in her Latter-Day Tale series, but I hadn't gotten the chance to yet. Now I must read them both soon, because Sense and Sensibility was amazing and I loved every minute I spent with its characters! I was hooked from the very first paragraph, ready to turn the pages and not stop reading until I had read the very last word on the very last page (unfortunately that couldn't happen, but I did read it in one day because it was so good)!

Why was I hooked so quickly?

Well, I can honestly say that I have never read a book that started out the way this one did. I was intrigued by Elly and her youngest sister Grace who was autistic. Then Ethan came along!

~ Don't forget to throw in a bunch of hilarious events throughout the entire book, it had me laughing out loud!

There were two main characters that we saw perspectives from. Sisters to be exact. Practical and sensible Elly who is super cautious with everything, especially when it comes to love (I'm sensible like Elly so I could relate). Then there's Maren who is desperate to feel and get out of the darkness surrounding her, throwing caution to the wind (I'm NOT good at throwing caution to the wind, so her perspective was really interesting to read). Yet, as different as they are, they are more similar than it at first appears. I loved both perspectives, they really tied everything together and brought more to each individuals character. 

Elly is basically the central force that holds her family together. While her mother works Elly who has slightly humorous ways to get over her irritation with other people. She is also the one who takes care of Grace. I loved how she interacted with Grace and was so patient with her, and it was fun to get to know Grace. I really enjoyed reading about her because she's autistic and you could really see the love the sisters had for her. Then Elly meets kind and caring Ethan, who is fantastic with Grace. The problem? He's a Ferrero, a terrible horrible Ferrero! One of which her ex left her for three years ago, then proceeded to drive her family's company out of business. Then she gets a job with the rival company and get closer to Ethan, ensuring many hilarious altercations and situations!

Ethan was amazing at first! He was so kind and caring and perfect for Elly! But it wasn't all sunshine and rainbows:( I'm not telling!

Maren was having a really tough time with depression. After her father's death and her lack of a job after like three hundred applications, she just couldn't see the point in getting out of bed every day. I had never read a book that dealt with depression before, but Maren and her situations and thoughts made it seem so real and like I could almost understand. This was one way that we got to see what lengths each sister would go through to help the other, as Elly tries to help Maren get over her depression and be a little more logical, and Maren tries to help Elly be a little less, well, sensible!

~ Don't forget! Lots of funny situations!

Then the family moves across the country to live with their grandmother. There we have Elly and Ethan having a long distance relationship, and Maren in love with an unreliable untrustworthy man, and with a sweet and reliable man in love with her!

All of the characters were very well written, and added even more to the book and to the readers experience while reading it.

As struggle, love, tragedy, health, joy, sadness, anger, feelings, life, and lessons all collide in this humorous retelling of Jane Austins Sense and Sensibility you will fall in love with this book! The descriptions especially through Marens artist eyes were so vivid, and the feelings and issues of the characters become your own. You will fall in love with them all, and you won't want the book to end! The two guys were amazing and so perfect for the two sisters, will the live happily ever after?

Also, there were places during this book where I smiled, and smiled, and smiled, laughed out loud, cried, wondered if things could possibly get any worse for the two (and they did) etc. as situations and circumstances collided. The end left me feeling like I might burst with happiness, and with a huge smile on my face though, and it didn't disappear until, oh I don't know, maybe thirty minutes after I finished reading! Okay, maybe twenty-eight minutes later!

Seriously, go read this book!

I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are solely my own.

Displaying www.cedarfort.com.jpg

Wonderland Weekend

Wonderland Weekend is a new feature that I started last weekend! Check out my introduction post here. On this feature I talk about something bookish that has something unique about it that takes us to "another world" while we're reading. It may be a book that takes place in a new world, a unique country, outer-space, has magic, time travel, etc. or a book world trend, something I see a lot of, something I want to see (or see more of), basically whatever I feel like!

I want this to be fun and creative! It would be awesome if you would join in the fun and spread the wordIf you would like to participate, please feel free to write a post anytime during the week (it can be long or a couple sentences, feature a book or just talk about the topic, whatever), link back to this post, and leave your link here - I would love that

I'm changing it a little from what I said in my introduction post. 
Instead of committing to post this feature every Saturday, I'm going to have one topic each month, and I'll post 1-4 times about it, depending on how much time I have, and what I can come up with. This way, people have the whole month to participate. 

Feel free to tell me your honest opinion of this new feature in the comments below! Hate it? Like it? Suggestions on how to make it better?
 I NEED YOUR OPINIONS!

Maybe you even want to suggest a topic! 

Maybe, your really adventurous and awesome and would like to write a post for this feature on Wonderous Reviews with a link to your blog! If that's you, feel free to comment below leaving your email, or email me (can be found on my Review Policy).

I decided to keep it informational this week, since I'm just getting started with it, but I'll have a more fun post next!


Friday, August 22, 2014

A Match of Wits by Jen Turano

A Match of Wits (Ladies of Distinction, #4)

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Goodreads Summary
After his departure from New York two years ago to meet up with his almost-fiancee, Zayne Beckett is the last person Agatha Watson wanted to stumble upon in her travels as a reporter with the New York Tribune. Quite pathetically bedraggled, he clearly needs to be taken in hand and sent back East to his family. Although she no longer has feelings for him, Agatha realizes--by hook or by crook--she'll have to be the one to get the obstinate man home.

Zayne has no desire to be taken anywhere and is prepared to drag his heels all the way home . . . until he finds himself slipping back into the familiar banter of his former friendship with Agatha. Once they arrive in New York, Zayne realizes Agatha's determined nose for news has earned her a few enemies, and he hopes to repay her help with some help of his own. When she rebuffs all his attempts to prove himself a knight in shining armor, the lengths to which they'll go to win this battle of wills lead to some memorable antics.

Everyone else may think them a match, but nothing could be further from the truth--until Agatha finds herself in real trouble. Have these two stubborn, too-smart-for-their-own-good people been meant for each other all along?

My Review
A Match of Wits by Jen Turano was a fantastically witty book that earned the title of wittastic (witty and fantastic), because it was so amazing!

While I have been wanting to read all of Ms. Turano's books, this is the first (though definitely not the last) of hers that I have read even though it is the fourth in her series. I normally never read series out of order, but I got this one for review so I thought I would read it first, now I have to make time to read the first three before I read anything else! A Match of Wits was so good that I wanted it to be longer, so I have no problem with that!

I've said this before and I'll say it again - witty banter can make or break a book for me. A book that wants to be amazing must have fantastic and witty banter and if there was an award for the author who writes the books with the best witty banter it would definitely go to Jen Turano! A Match of Wits had the best witty banter I have ever read, it had me laughing and smiling constantly! And Zayne and Agatha? Well, between Agatha's attraction to trouble and humorous situations she gets herself (and others) in, and Zayne's stubborn and complete blindness to his feelings, and her determination to be independent and his determination to be her knight in shining armor despite his leg, and their annoyance and arguing with each other, even if he didn't know it, they were so perfect for each other - the perfect match of wits!
The characters (including the adorable and smart Matilda -A P.I.G.)all contributed to the story adding even more witty banter and humor. The characters from the first three books are present and interesting, I can't wait to read their stories!

If you want a book that will entertain you for the entire duration of time it takes you to read the book, make you laugh, make you smile, take you on hilarious adventures, make you feel like you are the main character, introduce you to a fantastic guy named Zayne and a spunky woman named Agatha among many other characters, and make you smile more than you usually do while you read, this book is definitely the one for you!

Keep on writing the wittiest banter ever Ms. Turano!
I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are solely my own. 

Thursday, August 21, 2014

In Summer

As I am writing this, it is the last of my summer vacation:( As you are reading this, it is the first day of school for me:( I am always devastated when school starts, because I love summer and the fact that I didn't have to go to school everyday. Though I am finally a senior this year, that does not make me want to go back!
Why can't summer be longer?!
 In Summer!
I love Summer!!!!!!!!

What I did this summer
I went to Romania on a mission trip, which was amazing!
I went to the beach and Tennessee
I spent time with my family and friends
Grew in my faith and relationship with God
Walked my dog Princess every day that it was nice
Helped my grandparents
Planted flowers and picked beans
Babysat
Read
And More

Blogwise I
Read about 29-30  books
Reviewed books
Continued participating in TTT's and WoW's
Had a post for almost everyday (except my 2 week hiatus while I went to Romania)
Got organized about my books and blogging schedule
Came up with lots of ideas for discussion posts
And more

Unfortunately, I didn't get ahead in blogging like I had hoped to. I might have been a mix of busy and lazy and didn't have time to get ahead, but hopefully I'll get on the ball and get ahead soon! 

I had an amazing and wonderful summer! I grew so much as a person and in my faith, especially thanks to Romania!


I'll miss you, Summer

What's your summer been like?

Wednesday, August 20, 2014

Waiting on Wednesday - The Zodiac Collector by Laura Diamond

The Zodiac CollectorThe Zodiac Collector by Laura Diamond
Publication Date: Sept. 23, 2014

For almost-16 year-old Anne Devans, the annual Renaissance
Faire means three things—her dad spending weeks in the smithy, her bipolar mom doing some manic costume making, and another ruined birthday for her and her twin sister, Mary.

This year, Anne wants things to be different, and she's going to do things her way.

On the eve of the Faire, Anne (along with a reluctant Mary) conjures up a spell that will make their 16th birthday party a whirlwind event.Little do they know that it's a literal request.

After the mini tornado in their room subsides, the girls realize they've invoked the power of the Gemini Twins, Castor and Pollux. That's the good news. The bad news is they also caught the attention of a sorceress named Zeena who has been collecting children born under each Zodiac Sign to enhance her power. Once she captures Anne and Mary, Gemini twins, the entire Zodiac—and the world—will be hers.

Anne leads the fight against Zeena, but her one-sided decisions could throw them into a world so far from home, even the Renaissance Faire would seem like a brilliant vacation. Between managing their new Zodiac powers, dodging their manic mother and trying to stop Zeena, they'll get a 16th birthday they'll never forget.

Why I'm Waiting
This books cover caught my attention, and it sounds very unique and intriguing. Like nothing I've ever read before! Plus it mentions a Renaissance Faire!


View all my reviews

Tuesday, August 19, 2014

Top Ten Books People Have Been Telling You That You Must Read

Top Ten Tuesday is a fun meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish, where we pick the top ten things that we choose for the topic of the week.
Topic: Top Ten Books People Have Been Telling You That You Must Read

A couple of friends have told me that I need to read these, but I haven't.
The Book Thief The Hunger Games (The Hunge... Legend (Legend, #1)
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak - I have this one, and really want to read it!
The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
Legend by Marie Lu

Multiple people had told me to read this so I eventually did.
Tiger's Curse (The Tiger Sa... Divergent (Divergent, #1) The Fault in Our Stars
The Tigers Curse by Colleen Houck - Loved
Divergent by Veronica Roth - Liked it
The Fault in our Stars by John Green - Said I would never read, had to read for school, wasn't a fan (sorry)

That's all I have for today! My friends know I'm a reader and sometimes they recommend books, but that's all I can think of right now (I'm not sure how, last week of summer must be on the brain)!

What are people insisting that you read?

Sunday, August 17, 2014

Week of Wonder

Week of Wonder is what I call my Weekly Wrap-up. I will link up everything that I did on my blog this week - books I read, books I reviewed, what challenges I've added to, what I'm currently reading, all my other posts, etc. I will also let you know about any upcoming events that are coming up on my blog.

Blog Tours
The Cinderella Theorem by Kristee Ravan - interview and review
Model Undercover by Carina Axelsson - giveaway and review

Other Posts
A-Z of Bookish Questions
Top Ten Books I'm Not Sure I Want To Read
Waiting on Wednesday - Cinder & Ella by Kelly Oram
Wonderland Weekend
Stacking the Shelves

What I Read/Finished This Week
The Strength of Ballerinas Model Undercover: Paris The One (The Selection, #3)
The Strength of Ballerinas by Nancy Lorenz
Model Undercover: Paris by Carina Axelsson
The One by Kiera Cass

Currently Reading
Sense and Sensibility: A La...
Sense & Sensibility by Rebecca H. Jamison

Coming Up (subject to change)
Sense and Sensibility by Rebecca H. Jamison
The One by Kiera Cass
Memes
A survey for you

Saturday, August 16, 2014

Wonderland Weekends Intro + Giveaway

I am so excited to introduce Wonderland Weekends on Wonderous Reviews today! What is Wonderland Weekends? Well, it's something that has been forming in my mind for a while now, and I've finally decided to start it this week! This something is a post that I'm going to start doing every Weekend (Saturday) where I talk about something bookish that has something unique about it that takes us to "another world" while we're reading. It may be a book that takes place in a new world, a unique country, outer-space, has magic, time travel, etc. or a book world trend, something I see a lot of, something I want to see (or see more of), basically whatever I feel like!

I want this to be fun and creative! It would be awesome if you would join in the fun and spread the wordIf you would like to participate, please feel free to write a post anytime during the week (it can be long or a couple sentences, feature a book or just talk about the topic, whatever), link back to this post, and leave your link here - I would love that
Thanks to Jennifer Hartz there are also two giveaways - both books that will take you to a whole new world - taking place with a total of six winners!

The picture above is temporary, I'm thinking about changing it. What do you think?

This Weekends Topic - Books Take Us To Another World

One of my favorite things about reading is that books can take us to another place. Why does that appeal so much to us as readers (or people in general)? Well for one thing, it lets us do things and go places that we would never be able to go if it wasn't for that book, catering to our adventurous spirit! Sure there is always the possibility that we may get to take a plane to another country, but we could never take a plane to another universe! That's what reading does, especially when we are reading about a made up world - it's a flight to another universe. It's a way to experience feelings and actions without the fatal peril that characters sometimes face! 
Creating a unique place takes a lot of creativity, imagination, and skill. The readers have to truly feel like they are in this place that the author imagined and wrote about. To achieve giving readers this feeling, authors have to describe the setting in just the right way - showing not telling the reader. Interesting and relateable characters must be created, as well as problems and solutions. We wouldn't go very far through a book without any of these things!
But, a book doesn't have to take us to a made up world to take us to "another world." Reading a contemporary book that takes place in the same state or country you live in can also take you to another world! How? Take, for example, two best friends. One is a pure country girl and one is a rich superstar. They have two very different lifestyles. It's like they live in two separate worlds! Just like when we read a contemporary book that takes place in a normal highschool, we still go to a "whole new world," because we are seeing things from a different perspective. Through the eyes of a character (or new book friend). We are transported to the characters life, experiencing their experiences, and go for an adventure, if only for a little bit!
Reading lets us escape. 
Having a bad day? Just want to relax? Need a vacation? Or curious about another country? Just read a book! It will help you forget or even help you solve your problems, help you chillax (chill and relax, I kind of made it up) and show you something new!
Before I was like but now, I'm like 

They make us feel.
One single book can make us feel so many emotions. From love to anger to laughter they make us feel it all! Like I've said before, I'm a very emotional reader, so I cry and laugh while reading, smirk, smile, raise a single eyebrow, etc., in the most inconvenient places!

They teach us and make a difference in our lives.
We can learn so much through books, from little things to important life lessons! It's amazing how we can learn something from a book that, normally, we would have learned the hard way. You can learn through others experiences and mistakes, their wise words, the moral of the story, the hidden message written between the lines. They make a true difference in our lives. One beautifully written meaningful sentence written by one author can impact a single person for rest of their life. How amazing is that?
We can go back in time, dance with handsome princes, discover mythical creatures, do magic spells, save a kingdom, meet new people, go all over the world, learn, and so much more, all from reading one single book! 
There are SO many ways that books can take us to "another world," but I can't talk about them ALL in this one post. It's your turn! You tell us something about how books take us to another world. And, don't forget to join me next week for another Wonderland Weekend!

Also, feel free to tell me your honest opinion of this new feature in the comments below! Hate it? Like it? Suggestions on how to make it better? Maybe you even want to suggest a topic!